Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t? 

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all. 

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. 

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her… 

A dark and sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Louise O’Neill.

I want to start of this review by saying that I picked up this book because it is by Shappi Khorsandi. I am not the biggest fan of YA books and rarely read them but I love Shappi, and her stand up shows and wanted to give her debut novel a read. The second thing I want to say is that this book may fall into the older YA category – but as I don’t read YA I don’t really know and you can judge that for yourself. The third thing I want to say is that I loved it and hope very much that Shappi writes more.

View Full Post